What are your favorite fish species?

I have many years of goldfish and betta experience and a bit of that with Endlers and  platies, all years ago, and now about ten months with guppies and mollies as well. For looks, I love the old style veil tail goldfish. Nothing beats them for glamour in my book. But I really enjoy Planted community tanks the most as far as actually enjoying Fishkeeping. If I had to choose just one species it might be Endlers, but really I love mollies and platies too. I love peaceful fish and they are all that.

• Like 2

I've got 5 nano tanks and working on 3 large setups, so lots of potential to keep many things. Love my grumpy betta, but he really needs to be alone 😞 Endlers are hardy livebearers, smaller than guppies and really fun to watch and breed - just got my first babies last week! Really LOVE our shrimp and crayfish, watch them perhaps the most. Loaches and catfish are also a blast, love watching our kuhli and bristlenose pleco antics every day.

Planning a pair of south american tanks that will have small fish on one side - green neon, silvertip, pristella/x-ray, rummynose and possibly diamond tetras, some apisto cichlids - and larger ones on the other side - angels, geophagus, and congo tetras (not SA bt have to have them). Corydoras and more bristlenoses. The bedroom tank I am working on now may have more angels, but who knows?

I loved african cichlids but found them a bit limiting over time - the mouthbrooders are so fun to watch though. 

But my all-time favorite fish? The ones I saw first as a kid. Oscars! They really are water puppies.

• Like 1

On 4/13/2022 at 11:12 AM, Gannon said:

Archerfish hands down! They are very needy, skittish, and need to be treated with special care because of these things, but its worth it for these remarkably fascinating and intelligent animals. 

image0.jpeg

Gorgeous aquarium!

• Like 1