Can't decide please help

KaydinPanda

Hey,

So I'm new to this and just got a 5 gallon fish tank (that's not ready yet), but I'm at a lost here every time I try to find small schoolling fish (that are good for the size of tank I have), I only get that only one fish in there. I was wondering if anyone knew what I could get that I can have more than 3. (Also in college dorm so can't size up)

Highest regards,

A new person to the hobby

Edited by KaydinPanda
Forgot info
  • Love 1

Unfortunately you really can't get more than 1 species of fish in a 5 gallon tank. There just isn't room for them to do their own things. You might be able to get away with a shrimp or snail in addition to some fish, but even that might be pushing it.

I know it's not what you want to her, but unfortunately that's just the limit of the tank's size. I'm in a situation where there are fish I'd love to keep that need more room than the maximum size of tank I can have in my apartment so I get the frustration, but it's better to get fish that can live happily where you can have them, and move to bigger fancier tanks later when your situation allows.

Welcome to the hobby and I hope you fall in love with whatever fish you choose!

Edited for clarity

Edited by Seshia

Sadly, 5 gallon ( which in reality will be like 13 liters, if you put substrate and decorations) is only suitable for a shrimp colony. But hey, shrimp tanks are easy to take care of, low on maintenance, low on feeding, interesting to watch. Not a bad starting place.

And hey, a shrimp tank will easily survive any of the holiday breaks you will take, no special care needed. Just do a good reading, shrimp should not be put immature tanks, they need like a 3-6 month period on the tank to become stable

• Like 1