Hello everyone!

Nyssa

I'm pretty new to the hobby, but also not really at the same time. I've kept goldfish and bettas before when I was younger, as I'm sure many of us have, in less than ideal conditions. This is my first real attempt at fish keeping.

Initially I was too afraid to even start up on this hobby because of past experiences, and I was afraid that history was going to repeat itself. But luckily with the vast amount of information that I've gotten from Aquarium Co-op and other fishtubers, I've had nothing but success since I started up my first tank back in October.

I started off by having my second-hand 55 gallon tank set up with just plants/easy green to get everything started and waited until I was growing algae to make my way down to my LFS. I went in expecting to build the tank from the bottom up by getting cory catfish and going from there. But when I walked in, I was immediately drawn to the platy tank and fell head over heels with their antics and personality. I just had to have them! Since then, they've popped out some fry, they're about three weeks old and a lot of them have survived thanks to the plant cover. I've also gotten two bristlenose plecos and 6 albino corys to really get the ecosystem going. This tank is lovingly called the goober tank, they're all so active and lively, they make me giddy like a little kid in a candy store 😄  It's really hard to get a picture of all of them at the same time, but here's three out of the four platys during feeding time. Also my water sprite is an absolute monster, I can't believe that this is the same plant that I ordered back in October LOL

IMG_1926.jpg.fbd8e8d07a9cb09ff8db9c1c6921cd71.jpg