Substrate opinions?

I’m sure there’s as many opinions on this as there are on plants and fish but what is everyone’s favorite substrate?

I’m using large gravel with fluval stratum. My next tanks going to be a mix of fine gravel, sand, and something like fluval but with out the balls. My Kuhlis love digging to much. 

Hi @Imhicks101

On 12/22/2021 at 5:13 PM, lmhicks101 said:

I’m sure there’s as many opinions on this as there are on plants and fish but what is everyone’s favorite substrate?

I’m using large gravel with fluval stratum. My next tanks going to be a mix of fine gravel, sand, and something like fluval but with out the balls. My Kuhlis love digging to much. 

Hi @Imhicks101

Why use layers of substrate?  I've been doing planted tanks for 13+ years and have never layered or mixed substrates.  I have used natural gravel (aka Cemex lapis lustre sand), Soilmaster Select Charcoal (discontinued), Turface Pro League Grey, Safe-t-sorb, and HTH Pool Filter Sand and I have had good results with all of them.  Soilmaster Select, Turface, and Safe-t-sorb are all calcined (fired) montmorillonite clay products with high cation exchange capacities (CEC) and large amounts of potassium and micro-nutrients which plants can access through their root systems..  In addition the high CEC of calcined clay allows the substrate to absorb nutrients from the water column and make them available to plant roots in the substrate.

You can buy a 40# bag of Safe-t-sorb for $42 on Amazon or do what I do and go to Tractor Supply Company (several in the Seattle area) and buy the same 40# bag for $7.29 (currently on sale normally $11). Here is a link on one of the high tech tanks I did with Safe-T-Sorb and a picture of the 10 gallon low tech tank I did below. Hope this helps! -Roy

https://www.plantedtank.net/threads/a-45-gallon-high-a-saxa-tilly-inspired-tank.1301089/#post-11283643

spacer.png
  • Like 2
  • Love 1

On 12/22/2021 at 6:36 PM, lmhicks101 said: