Alternative Nitrate Reduction via Emergents

I absolutely love this! Thank you, @dasaltemelosguy! I am looking at canisters for mechanical filtration, in tank plants for biological filtration, and yes, Pothos and nitrogen hogs for additional waste processing! Oddly enough, I am finding these same principles applicable to saltwater tanks! Looking at a weird addition of mangroves in a "brackish side step" to my V-Sump.

Thank you so much for posting this!

• Like 1

Thank you. This was fantastic. I use pothos in all my tanks now in the plastic egg crate inspired by you awhile ago. I have been eyeing lucky bamboo for a few months but was afraid I would lose too much nitrate consumption by switching out the pothos. I was never convinced enough on the nitrate home media to try it so it’s good to know I’m not missing out. 

• Like 4

First off, this is excellent for so many reasons! 

To begin with, I've been speaking to some folks at the local aquarium club about the possibility of providing small grants to help members do their own research, and then present it to the club (and perhaps more widely).  This will be the example I will use to sell the concept.  It is the gold standard I have run across for this scale of work.  Well done!!!

Also, that Dracaena braunii, a.k.a. "lucky bambo", frankly, just looks awesome in that tank.  The impacts on nitrogenous wastes aside.