Fish Room 64 Build Thread

Jimmy

Welcome! This is my build thread to my new fish room. I’ve picked the brains of many members over the last couple weeks and finally I’m off the the races! I intend on taking many photos and updating my progress as I go. Please feel free to ask questions and a little direction is ok also. 

A little about me.

I’ve kept fish for only about 9 years. My hobby over that span on time really looks different from time to time. The biggest thing is that I’m always excited about fish. I’ve mostly kept only 1-2 aquariums at any given time. My interest ebbs and flows. What intrigues me within the hobby is also changing. I’m a blessed father of 3 little kids and have a much supportive wife who I absolutely love. I work as a truck driver( home daily) and work roughly 60 hours a week. 
The last few years on MANY occasions Inhave suggested more aquariums to my SO and quickly got dismissed! To her defense we live in a rather small home and the space for more aquariums is essentially nil. Ask enough times and finally she had a rather great idea. “Why don’t you put a fish tank in the shop?” So what did i do? I bought 23!

Shes referring to a 14x18 detached garage on our property that’s rough 20 feet from our back door. It had no running electricity to it up until recently. Has a brand new roof that I installed but looks rather dilapidated due to siding that is peeling and probably 55+ years old.  Outside of that it’s structurally in good shape and is fit to house aquariums with a bit of work.

The space I’m working with is a 8x8 that I’m building entirely myself with much help and direction from the community, years of watching YouTube and suggestions from my father in law. This is where I got the idea to call it Fishroom 64. No interest in YouTubing but I can at least document the progress.