Do UVs Really Prevent Disease Spread?

MattyM

I was recently part of a chat where someone was thinking of filtering 2 tanks with one filter. So I asked - wouldn't that spread a disease in one tank to both? He replied, the inline uv light will take care of that. 

Is that true? Can a UV prevent the spread of any sort of disease? I know they can be good for the general health of a tank, but this seems to rely on them too much.

I’m not a scientist but my understanding is if they are strong enough to kill algae they are strong enough to kill bacteria. Time in contact counts so higher flow is less efficient. Bulbs getting old or caked with deposits are also less efficient. 
parasites and things like worms and anchor worms I am not sure. They do not sterilize ALL the tanks water at once. Bacteria reproduces rapidly. 
would I rely solely on UV to prevent the spread of things from tank to tank with unknown fish or quarantine fish…NO. However I do use them occasionally when I have a concern or in a qt. 

Edited by Guppysnail
  • Like 3

On 11/17/2022 at 2:07 PM, MattyM said:

I was recently part of a chat where someone was thinking of filtering 2 tanks with one filter. So I asked - wouldn't that spread a disease in one tank to both? He replied, the inline uv light will take care of that. 

Is that true? Can a UV prevent the spread of any sort of disease? I know they can be good for the general health of a tank, but this seems to rely on them too much.

uv works by killing off microbes, personally I think it has its ups and downs (theoretically, I haven't done nearly any research and never used it, so this is just my speculation)

I would expect an effective UV filter to limit disease but not eliminate it.  Bulbs can go out, get caked with debris, etc, so I would never rely on one to be 100%.  Is it a great tool to help control disease?  Yes.  Is it 100%?  No way.  Not even with meticulous maintenance.

• Like 3

On 11/18/2022 at 5:59 PM, meadeam said: