Looking for the best all-around solution for 210G filtering

Luciferkrist

Been looking around the internet lately and I am getting all sorts of conflicting and subjective information about filtration. I will be receiving a 210G some time this month and am still not quite sure what I will ultimately do with it stocking wise, but I wanted to get the less glamorous parts before it arrives. I am not certain if setting up a sump, canister, couple of massive HOBs, or a small army of sponges will be the best route. My previous experience with tanks has only been with HOBs and sponge filters, but I wanted to be able to place my cabinet flush to the wall, so I don't think I can make HOBs work, I worry about flow rates if I try to do sponge filters, I have no experience on how sumps ever work for freshwater, and I hear nothing but horror stories about canister cleaning and price. I am even thinking about trying to make a DIY filter system using a submersible water pump and few feet of PVC with eggcrate meshes to hold in media...

So, I put it out to my fellow fishheads - What does your experience tell you for similar tanks? Which options are the most adaptable, or should I look into some combination of them. I know I will probably end up with at least a (relatively) small sponge filter for nothing else than to aerate the tank.

Right now I am leaning into a canister; Fluval FX6 or 2 of their smaller ones like 407s, but my lack of experience is making me unsure if either would be appropriate, so any advice or expertise is appreciated!

Thanks!

I would suggest one of three solutions (there is no best):

1) matten filter or sponge filter (matten filter is basically a large sponge filter)

2) sump

3) pair of fx6 (you would probably need two but a bit depend on your stocking)

-