Pair of plecos for a 10 gallon

Stephen Zawacki

A pit bull pleco is the smallest I know of I think 2 inches.  To breed in a 10 though? I think most pleco have 60-120 fry. I am not an expert by any means but my BN pleco are poop machines and would kill a 10. Any pleco in a 10 I would only imagine daily huge water changes. Good luck though. I hope you get a good answer I have some 10s I wouldn’t mind a small plecos help in! 😁

On 8/18/2021 at 8:00 PM, Tankseeker said:

@laritheloud I suppose it’s possible but still pushing it I think minimum breeding tank size should be a 20

I wasn't even thinking about breeding Otos, but yes, you're absolutely right. I wouldn't feel comfortable keeping a school of otos in a 10, personally ... I know they like company.

• Like 1

That is something you must consider before purchasing any fish. You can remove any eggs and dispose of them or research breeding behavior etc. and you can have a spare tub/tote/tank cycled ready to go to raise them. Example…my BN just hatched in a 20long..I have 1 30 gallon tote ready and just bought a spare 20 gallon tote in case the 30 is not large enough. I have enough extra filters running in different tanks to accommodate and enough driftwood and plants for these. 

My suggestion is to spend time learning about each fish you think you may want. Their likes dislikes environment p/food/care needs. Breeding patterns when to remove eggs fry  if needed etc. in my experience just getting a fish because it fits in your tank is a very poor idea. I have many times wanted a certain fish..due to needs time requirements life span breeding numbers food preferences etc etc I decided they were not the correct fish to be in my care. Again just because they fit your tank does not mean they are the correct choice for you. Research many avenues books videos internet searches and learn about the fish 

• Like 4