Dreaming of Large Tank with Lots of Schooling Fish

Ceej

So I'm very new to the aquarium hobby and I am enjoying my travels in the rabbit hole.

My tank is only 10G and I'm already imagining larger tanks. I'll wait until I can prove to myself that I can handle my current tank.

So my question is in the title: does anyone here have any experience with a relatively large tank (55G+) stocked mostly with small schooling fish? Is it viable? Are there any special considerations? To me, the schooling of these kinds of fish are beautiful!

• Love 1

On 6/23/2021 at 10:32 AM, Ceej said:

So I'm very new to the aquarium hobby and I am enjoying my travels in the rabbit hole.

My tank is only 10G and I'm already imagining larger tanks. I'll wait until I can prove to myself that I can handle my current tank.

So my question is in the title: does anyone here have any experience with a relatively large tank (55G+) stocked mostly with small schooling fish? Is it viable? Are there any special considerations? To me, the schooling of these kinds of fish are beautiful!

I think this kind of tank is the way to go. So peaceful and enjoyable.

you can absolutely put huge numbers of small schooling fish into large tanks. imo , the bigger the tank the better. gives fish more room to move around and act natural vs being in a tiny box (still are, but not as tiny), and in most instances a larger tank is less maintenance.

• Like 1

On 6/23/2021 at 8:32 AM, Ceej said:

It’s the best way to see natural behaviors.  That’s my current plan, once I convince my neat/tidy husband that it will look great in our front room with the other tanks! I don’t have a dedicated fish room! Lol 

On 6/23/2021 at 11:03 AM, Nanci B said:

If you can handle your 10G, you can handle anything bigger.  The larger the tank, the easier it is to manage, in most cases.

Welcome into the rabbit snail hole.