Fry care : C.regani fry with parents or move to ziss breeder box or rack system?

Any advice is greatly appreciated. I am curious if it is worth it to try and move some of the fry for the Dwarf pike or just let the parents do their thing for a while. I'm assuming they are similar to other cichlids with parental care and they are pretty attentive so far. This pair formed in summer 2019 and relentlessly attacked the subdominant pair until I removed them. After a month of regular runs of COOP BBS for the fish room this is the first time they have produced. My plan would be to use a few ziss breeder boxes for easier observation and feeding of bbs etc. Seems like a decent size group for a first time pair but I am a pike rookie.

20210101_184030_1.gif

• Like 1

• 2 weeks later...
16 hours ago, s1_ said:

Those fish look really cool. This is unrelated but I am curious about your motion pictures or gifs. Is there a service that does that or is it a cell phone feature.

Sure thing if I make a video in the phone and play it back I have a gif button in the video I can and hit to make one. I just found it though these were my first 2 tries. I would guess it is something specific to the phone but I'm sure others have it in the video playback somewhere. 

On 1/13/2021 at 11:33 AM, FrostiesFishes said:

Well done I’ve never seen anyone breed those before! And have heard the pikes are very difficult to breed. So well done, but I would sneak in with a siphon and suck out a handful of them and leave the rest. 

Thank you pretty interesting 14 days so far. I'm probably going to hedge my bets and move a portion at least. I would hate to miss the opportunity to learn with the growth rates etc but would be a slight trade off of risk since I have no idea how long they need to remain with the parents in nature to properly develop. 

• Like 1