Using Purigen

Waricks

I have a 29 gallon planted tank that has a couple chunks of wood. I soaked the wood for two weeks changing the water every day. When it came time to add the wood to the tank I didn’t notice any color change to the soaking water. A few days after the wood went in the tank the water was pretty dark from the wood. I spoke with my local fish store and they recommended the use of purigen in my filter. It did an amazing job and the tank remains crystal clear. 

my question is - Will the use of purigen effect my plants?  

702531D3-412F-4306-BD8D-A174A63D1D7F.jpeg

• Like 1

I didn’t affect mine.   It is not supposed to intake minerals. It does not eliminate nitrate just some organics. Someone really good with planted tanks on here recommended it to me. I’ve been using it for a few months and my plants are doing great. 

• Like 1

On 4/4/2022 at 12:20 PM, Waricks said:

it may pull out some nutrients for "difficult" plants but purigen really isn't the way to handle what you're going through. give the wood time to soak, let it leech out what it's going to leech out. If you're really worried about the color of the tank, then just go ahead and do water changes over time. You'll get caught up and you'll see the tank adjust.

I used purigen a few times and it's definitely more of a hassle than anything. I would only use it in times of severe need because it's a pain to recycle it. I had 2-4 bags I would swap out over and over.

• Like 3

See, I’m not a huge fan of the tannins.  I’m not a fan of recharging it, but I use it in one tank.  When it’s done I’ll chuck it.

I had not thought about it pulling nutrients from the water though.  I need tho think about it some more. 

• Like 1

On 4/4/2022 at 2:42 PM, Streetwise said:

I am not a fan of Purigen. As far as I can tell, it is composed of microplastics, which can only be reset with a risky bleach treatment. If you are using wood, enjoy the tannins.