Biofilm ?! Friend or Foe!

Leo2o915

@Cory @Dean’s Fishroom @Bentley Pascoe what’s ur opinion on this? 
what’s everyone’s opinion? 

I read a lot of people say it’s good for the tank and seen other say it’s bad want to start a good topic on it ? Why do y’all love it or hate it? Shrimp and certain species love it and thrive on it correct? 

Edited by Leo2o915
Forgot to add something

I think most who say it's bad are thinking on an aesthetic level, but I could be wrong.  I try to keep my front viewing panel clean and clear, but I realize that my little guys live on stuff like biofilm.  I'm by no means an expert, but I don't see any harm other than appearances for people who do not want a naturally wild looking tank. 

• Like 1

3 hours ago, ADMWNDSR83 said:

I think most who say it's bad are thinking on an aesthetic level, but I could be wrong.  I try to keep my front viewing panel clean and clear, but I realize that my little guys live on stuff like biofilm.  I'm by no means an expert, but I don't see any harm other than appearances for people who do not want a naturally wild looking tank. 

Yeah I leave it on top for a few days and the shrimp and snails love that stuff lol 

2 hours ago, StephenP2003 said:

I always leave my back walls coated in algae/biofilm, as well as any decor. Depending on viewing positions of various tanks, I'll keep one or both side walls coated as well. 

Yeah I leave mine on expect the front panel glass 

4 minutes ago, Kat_Rigel said:

FRIEND! Like the posters above, I also only clean the front glass, for viewing purposes. I constabtly see my cherry shrimp on the back glass nibbling away. 

Mine are on top eating the one on the surface 🙂

• Like 1