Guppy breeding and how to create new strains.

Jackk

Hi, I’m new to guppy breeding. I’ve had success breeding them but I’d like to get more into creating different strains/color patterns.

One of my questions about Guppy and Endler breeding. I was fairly new to it so I was under the impression Endlers are considered fairly close to guppies in terms of genetics. I ended up having a black bar endler male breed with a black Moscow female guppy. I will add pictures to show the fry grown up now. I have multiple of this same color now. My question is whether the babies of this breeding will be sterile. I’ve been getting mixed answers online about endler/guppy mixes being potentially sterile. 

Another question is whether you can only have endler males breed with female guppies as the endler female supposedly can’t push out the guppy male fry as efficiently. Is this a true thing? If this is the case, I will no longer breed endlers and guppies together as it was a first time breeding. I do like the color of the mixed black bar and Moscow black guppy though. In the future I’ll stick to same species breeding if this is a problem.

My last question is about breeding new variations/colors. Is is mainly about culling what colors you want? How do you get the males and females to be the same without having incest within the breeding? Do you have to mix the colors but buy from different sellers? So for example you buy 1 black bar endler from 1 seller as well as a female, and then buy another black bar endler from a different seller as well as a female? I’m not huge intI biology so I’m unsure how to label and prevent incest and to preserve the desired color you want. 

Thank you! I hope the post makes sense as I’m fairly new to guppy breeding. I’m more so trying to learn how to create different colors and how to preserve those colors once desired.

CE83B494-979A-41A0-BC4C-A8624F8691E0.jpeg

CD3EDE0F-F225-4957-B20E-1A1E30C4607F.jpeg

• Like 1

On 8/19/2021 at 9:00 PM, Jackk said: