Scared of co2

I know this sounds ridiculous but am I the only one who is scared to attempt Co2. I know it's very easy for some people but knowing how easy it can be to kill fish i am extremely cautious. I have watched a crap ton of videos and read articles but I still feel like I'm missing something cuz I have no confidence in my ability to try it. Any advice for someone who is on the fence about it?

I started with a tank kit that came with a Fluval 45g CO2 kit and after doing some research I opted out mainly due to the added need to turn the CO2 on and off with light cycles, etc. The cost of the Fluval replacements was also not appealing.  I know all that can be automated and you can cut cost with paintball canisters, etc.. With my job I often have to leave 3-4 days (possibly longer) and I need the tank to self-sustain unattended, or at least be cared for by someone who is far less obsessed than me. 

I have no real-world experience with CO2 but lots of experience and success with other non fish tank things and I have found that the people smart enough to be intimidated are usually the ones that do the research and hard work to make things a success. 

I say if you can afford the gear, have the time, and want to do it then you should give it a run. If its an epic fail you'll be out some money, or you can give it another attempt. No matter what I bet you learn a ton. 

• Like 2

19 minutes ago, PlaneFishGuy said:

I started with a tank kit that came with a Fluval 45g CO2 kit and after doing some research I opted out mainly due to the added need to turn the CO2 on and off with light cycles, etc. The cost of the Fluval replacements was also not appealing.  I know all that can be automated and you can cut cost with paintball canisters, etc.. With my job I often have to leave 3-4 days (possibly longer) and I need the tank to self-sustain unattended, or at least be cared for by someone who is far less obsessed than me.