Box Filters - Love 'em, Hate 'em, Never tried 'em?

pedrofisk

I have very soft water here in NYC and I've gotten tired of having to keep a media bag of crushed coral sitting in my bare bottom aquariums. I decided to give a cheap box filter a try loaded with the crush coral instead of the air stone. This way it is doing double duty and I left the course sponge it came with in it too. This is my first time using them and so far so good.

What's everyone else's opinion on the usefulness of box filters? Do you have any good hot rod tricks?

2109431975_2020-08-0420_02_29.jpg.85b9453159b33d0fbf9e51998911b097.jpg

• Administrators

I"m not a fan of how frequent they need to be serviced. I ran the whole store and some of my fish room after getting the bug from Greg Sage's fish room. As you can see today, I no longer use them. I like servicing sponge filters more. 

I would agree with Cory that servicing them can be a pain, especially if your running a sponge or poly material in them. They do work and I love that they can be fairly customizable. I run two big box filters in my koi/goldfish tote along with a Ehiem canister. In my boxes I just loaded them up with ceramic media and dunk them in a bowl of water every once in a while to clean them.

• Like 1

27 minutes ago, Cory said:

I"m not a fan of how frequent they need to be serviced. I ran the whole store and some of my fish room after getting the bug from Greg Sage's fish room. As you can see today, I no longer use them. I like servicing sponge filters more. 

@Cory what do you think of my idea to use them to deliver hardness from the crushed coral? My thought is it will be more active then having it in a media bag since I don't want it loose. It is of course Aquarium Coop crushed coral.