All About Sump Filters

MickS77

Do you have a sump? Considering getting one? DIY or manufactured? Questions about how they work? Looking for inspiration?

I wanted to create this thread for people to share and learn about sump filtration. Ask questions, comments, concerns. If you have one, post some photos and what equipment you're running. If you've made your own sumps, share what worked and what didn't. 

Sumps are infinitely customizable for the ultimate hot rodded filter. You might never go back to canister filters after you have one. 

• Like 5
  • Thanks 1

20200728_055023.jpg.7f24c6c592c4f524bbe99513e221dad8.jpg

I've been running this Custom Aquariums Seamless Sump for about 2 years on my 110 gallon tank and I love it. I also use their Stealthbox Overflow and Siphon Stopper Emitters. It was my first sump and there is definitely a learning curve. Including drilling the tank for bulkheads. Figuring out how to tune the main valve and getting it to run silent took a little time. 

20200728_055204.jpg.a65cfe47a02b87e072cb2a8b8d8dd636.jpg

Equipment wise, it starts with a large 4in. 200 micron filter sock. Water then flows next over a stack of 5 trays. The first tray has a few layers of Aquarium Co-op fine filter pad. The rest of the trays underneath have ceramic bio balls. Throughout the sump I have many slabs of Marinepure Bio block, wrapped in pantyhose because it gets really crumbly after a while. 

20200728_055430.jpg.5396774ec12ce66783300c1b0902289e.jpg

I use two Ecotech Vectra S1 pumps to return the water, one for each emitter. They are DC pumps so they are silent and controllable. I like running two pumps for redundancy, if one goes down I know the other is powerful enough to run the tank. I use two 300w titanium heaters controlled by a Reefkeeper Lite system. 

20200728_055249.jpg.854c863a2140e818c40a958e4ccdc5ab.jpg