Rookie issues

Mark C.

Hey everyone, I tried to search but didn’t actually find anything that would fit right. 

I started my first tank about two weeks ago. 29 gallon with a few live plants. I am a rookie and impatient so of course I put fish in there and they started dying. After a lot of research and watching videos I realize I how I screwed up. 

Well now I am having continued issues getting the tank to cycle. Here’s the rundown: 29G with a few live plants, a decent size piece of driftwood and 3 guppies and 3 Rasboras. Seachem Tidal 55 and a airstone. When testing I have small amounts of ammonia but zero nitrites and nitrates. I have done two water changes, around 30%, because I thought I needed to get rid of the ammonia to save the fish. I treated the tank for 1 week with Stability and Prime. Tested today and still like .24 ppm of ammonia and zero of the N’s. 

Any suggestions about what to do now? I know not to put anymore fish in there. 

Thank you, Mark

image.jpg

• Like 5

Hi. Welcome to the forum. Glad you are here.  It takes 4 weeks for the ammonia to nitrite bacteria to start really growing.  They are sloooowwww. Patients, test often, do water changes as tests dictate. It will happen and this hobby tries everyone’s patients against their excitement to want things to happen faster. Unfortunately that’s not a quick fix answer.  

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

Slow down, unless things are dire.  Are you sure the test kit is good.  Also are you using a liquid test kit?  Was the bottle of Stability new?  I think they put a date on the bottle.  When you change water you do leave the filter alone, correct?  

• Thanks 1