Dutch/ plant farm 75 gallon (and other projects)

I'm moving my journal over from another forum. I've made intros here before, this is my most recent project. 

20220227_210916.jpg.cc722c7609a782ac41b5c7c73bad6705.jpg

I managed to win the AGA Dutch-style aquascape competition last year. I am hoping it wasn't a fluke, so I'm going to try again this year.

In its current format, this tank is not Dutch-style. But you must learn how to grow before you can garden, and I am still learning how to grow. This tank uses 6 T5HO lights and inert gravel, both of which are new to me. I need to get a handle on what plants do well in these conditions before I start massaging this to actually look like a Dutch-style aquarium.

What other projects? I also dabble with ponds, wabi kusa, and living walls. I am interested in trying my hand at a really great paludarium and biotope someday, but for the time being I don't have the bandwidth. Most aquarium projects are on hold right now as I bought a house last fall that has needed pretty constant repair. 

A few warnings: I'm not a great writer. I have given up on trying to be super scientific and precise, so if you ask me a specific question my answer may be hand-wavey. Try to keep in mind that the way I do things is only one of a whole spectrum of ways to keep successful aquaria. I am no an expert, just a guy semi-obsessed with one of the nichest hobbies imaginable.

Current dosing: 

15 ppm Ca, 12.2 g  CaSO4,2H2O
7.5 ppm Mg, 14.4 g MgSO4,7H2O

7.2 ppm NO3/ 3.33 g

2.8 ppm PO4/ 1.5 g

15.2 ppm K2SO4/ 5.19 g

Edited by gjcarew
  • Like 13

The rare midweek update: I just bought a 10 lb CO2 tank and a flow meter. This tank is big enough, and I push CO2 hard enough, that a bubble counter doesn't do me much good. The other advantage is I will be able to give injection rates in terms of cubic centimeters per minute per gallon, which is an actual rate rather than the ambiguous unit of "bubbles per second."

• Like 1
  • Love 1