Stands and cabinets

Atitagain

I was posting in a thread, Costs started by @Jeff king (interesting read check it out) and it got me thinking about one I started, need help cutting cost of fish room; and a lot of discussion was to make money selling fish/ plants and invertebrates which is a good idea and there is much more great advice in there. But I feel as tho I would have to learn a lot of skill sets I don’t have. And really don’t have time to perfect in order to be profitable. 
So what occurred to me was why not build stands and aquarium related cabinetry. I have 30 years experience as a cabinet maker and finish carpenter. Almost a full shop capable of handling these types of builds in my garage, then I also have access to a full blown cabinet joinery shop when needed for bigger projects or a high volume order.

I’ve only used some DIY 2x4 racks and janky stands that come with aquariums at big box stores. I can’t recall even seeing a custom built stand except at hospitals and doctor offices, so no idea what’s inside.

what are some cool features or designs you have seen. Pics would help a lot. Fairly confident I’d be going after higher end tanks maybe 125G and up. Not necessarily but profit margins would be better and people who buy the larger sizes would have the $ to spend on a custom made stand. I’ve come up with a design I’m gonna try for my 125G. 
39F4B6E0-CE6E-4540-8C2B-5E0BC1C09354.jpeg.2f87562d2ed317b545998669b9623313.jpeg

hope this is legible to everyone, it’s how I start out when building custom cabinets.

also maybe a nitchy market, easy to build shelves, utility cabinets, or stuff like thisEB320B4F-F52D-4194-873B-F9B224DF4A3A.jpeg.91cfd9b4473b6b9af5a5f385a444b475.jpeg

i made this out of some leftover white oak in about 15 minutes.

• Love 2

Your drawings look better than mine! I typically just jot down the outside dimensions and wing it. Which leads to extra trips to the hardware/lumber store 😬

A few thoughts...