First Apistgramma spawn

Desktop Aquatics

This is my first attempt at breeding any fish but I did get my apistogramma 'blue steel' to spawn and have started raising the fry on their own. The female is doing a great job and thus far none of the other fish in the tank have been bothering them at all. Is there any extra I should be doing? I am feeding baby brine shrimp and feeding repashy spawn and grow sparingly. I planned on extra doing extra water changes every other day instead of my usual twice a week.

P.S. extremely new to the hobby started 6 months ago very excited and nervous

401461126_ApistoFryGIF.gif

• Like 8
  • Love 2

So cool. Congrats. Extra water changes are something i occasionally do and i definately change out filter media more often when feeding live baby brine.

I just recently had my first "krib"spawn, P.subocellus moanda , and left the fry with the parents for 2 weeks. I generally leave fry and parents together until the parents seem disinterested in guarding the fry as closely. My bolivian rams quit protecting at about that two week time and I should have pulled the fry as soon as I noticed the behavioral change. My regani pike took 60 days to stop guarding I pulled the majority of fry then; i think its more parental behavior dependant for my tanks.

The only other thing I do with cichlids is feed a variety for the adults while guarding as well. My cichlid parents seem to get the fry eating whatever they eat and that saves a lot of hassle later on. Early pulled fry for me were picky eaters with lower survival rates and slower growth. 

Edited by mountaintoppufferkeeper
  • Like 1

On 8/16/2021 at 2:14 AM, Kylec said: