The Blob

Aquater

Hi,

I'm a perplexed snail farmer.  I have a 40 gallon with 3 types of rabbit snails, many Japanese trap door snails, a few stow away pond snails, and an exploding population of red rilli shrimp.  I saw a small clear blob - not snail eggs - on some guppy grass.  I pulled the grass out.  Today I see huge ones - big as a quarter - but circular like a bubble attached to my awesome Aquarium Co-Op sponge filter.  Is it a type of parasite?  I have looked around on the internet and every thing I find says snail eggs.  I know better that is not what it is.  Especially given the type of snails in that tank.  Plus the first bloobs I saw were less than pea size - today three large blobs on the sponge filter.  HELP -- save me from the blobs!!!!  (Thank you in advance!)

Edited by Aquater
mis spelling
  • Like 1

Condolences to you. There must be a purpose for aquatic snails but I have yet to find one? I have about 15 tanks all snail free - I exterminate them by manual removal the moment I see them including their eggs. Every tank I have had snails in the population explodes exponentially. If I could have a tank with three or four snails I might be able to live with them. They are a bio-load on a tank I can live without but that is my personal opinion. I always isolate new arrivals in a quarantine tank to ensure I get no stow aways in established tanks.

My recommendation is genocide...

• Confused 2

On 8/8/2021 at 8:14 PM, Water Box Dreams said: