First aquarium with plants

So this is my first time putting plants in my aquarium, I went with anubias and I am planning to put another plant in maybe dwarf lilly or tiger lotus. I plan on using easy green fertilizer and was wondering if using carbon in my filter would be counter productive. The only reason im using carbon now is to remove tannins. Is purigen a better option? Or will the carbon in the filter be ok? 

So glad to hear you're going into the world of aquarium plants. Carbon filtration isn't used by many people because it doesn't usually last very long causing you to spend money on a less efficient process. If you're trying to remove tannins from wood, you could try boiling it switching the water in the pot every time it gets to a tea color and wait until it is no longer leaching tannins. Purigen won't suck up your ferts but you'd probably just be better off removing the tannins by boiling wood or leaf litter if your doing that kind of look. 

• Like 1

I am a bit of a newbie, but I can say that both the Tiger Lotus and the Dwarf Water Lily are very easy to keep.  I set up my tank at the end of May, and both are doing fantastic, with the Water Lily being the real stand out.

I used a lot of root tabs with them, and easy green.  The Water Lily took a few weeks to really get established, but once it did it started growing like crazy, right now I have a few surface leaves in addition to a nice batch near the substrate.

The Tiger Lotus has not had the explosive growth like the other plant, but it does have a nice number of leaves, and I have managed to get some new ones with it since it was planted.

• Like 1