Corydoras acting wild

Fresh

I bought one of the value packs from liveaquaria.com and it came with 3 cory's. It's been a short time but they're acting pretty wild by swimming fast up & down on the front glass. All the one's I've seen in the stores just chill out at the bottom. I do feel like the current is too much in my tank as I have a Fluval 306 in a 27g cube tank so I wonder if that's the issue? 

Cool. thanks. Just wasn't sure as this is my first time having them

I am concerned with the current though, not sure if they like it or if they're actually struggling. The filtration turnover rate is 11x 

Because they spend so much time on the bottom, corydoras are less affected by current than your other fish. I have angelfish, so I am also conscious of keeping the flow at a level my fish can tolerate. A lot of plants (real or plastic) and structures (wood, rocks, etc.) can help interrupt the flow and create some calmer spaces.

I think high flow rates are overrated. The volume/surface area of your filter media is more important than a high flow rate. If your flow rate is so high that it is bothering your fish, then maybe you should make a change.

• Like 3

I have a good amount of plants/decor but it doesn't seem like it has an affect on the current imo. I think the issue is the square design so there's no real dead spot. With a rectangle footprint I feel like dead spots are easily attained. The fish don't seem bothered but it does look like they're constantly swimming

64677828890__87646A5A-D747-48FC-8F19-8F91CB64D8DC.jpg

as long as there is somewhere in the tank fish can get out of the current, its not too big of a deal. its nice to turn over the tank. i like a couple times an hour worth of flow, 11x is a bit excessive.  if you can adjust it, i myself would probably throttle it back to about half, and see how things work like that.