who codes

Lemon

i started coding in python 2 days ago 

and my brother helped me make something to track water parameters

action = input("what do you want to do A.write test, B.read test")

if action == ("A"):
    ph = str(input("whats the ph"))
    gh = str(input("whats the gh"))
    kh = str(input("whats the kh"))
    nitrates = str(input("whats the nitrate"))
    tests = ("\n\nnitrates: %s general Hardness: %s karbonate hardness: %s nitrate: %s "% (ph,gh,kh,nitrates))

optional_tests = input("do you want to log NH3, NO2, PO4, misc")
    if optional_tests == ("Y"):
        phosphate = str(input("whats the phosphate"))
        ammonia = str(input("whats the ammonia"))
        nitrite = str(input("whats the nitrite"))
        chlorine = str(input("whats the the chlorine"))
        copper = str(input("whats the copper"))

optional_test = ("\n\nphosphate: %s ammonia: %s nitrite: %s chlorine: %s copper: %s"% (phosphate,ammonia,nitrite,chlorine,copper))
        optional_test_file = open("optional_test.txt", "a")
        optional_test_file.write(str(optional_test))
        optional_test_file.close

testfile = open("water parameter tracker.txt", "a")
    testfile.write(str(tests))
    testfile.close

download the latest version of python https://www.python.org/downloads/

you make a 2 text files called  "water parameter tracker.txt" and ""optional_test.txt" make sure they are in the same directory as the program

what have you made/working on? 

• Like 2

8 minutes ago, Squeegee79 said:

Never used Python myself. I currently code in C#/Razor, Javascript/jQuery/typescript, HTML, CSS. I have used php in the past as well, with a smidge of java. Pretty easy to follow what your code is doing though.

I have never used it for help with fish keeping though.

eventually I want to add gui and graphs 

I tried using c# for making games in unity but there were thing i enjoyed more that I could do with less frustration  and time 

• 2 weeks later...