I'm an assistant teacher at a preschool and I've been suggesting the idea of bringing a tank into the building to my supervisor for a while now. I think she is into it 🙂

That being said I now need to worry about some of the more realistic barriers to setting up a new tank. 

I would like it to be a low tech planted tank, chiefly because that is what I have the most experience with, I already have some of the materials as leftovers from personal projects, but I would love to hear some of the community's suggestions for stocking and anything else that may be relevant! 

My local fish club has tentatively offered that they could provide either some funds or ask the rest of the club members for donations of hard goods and livestock.

That all in mind, here's what I have:

-spare 29 gal tank

-adequately sized hob filter

-plenty of pea gravel

-Finnex Planted+ (light)

-lid

-other est. tanks to pre-cycle sponge

-some plants to get cuttings from (stem, floating, crypt, etc)

So, keep in mind we want critters that children ages 0-5 will appreciate! 

(Also hardy creatures will be preferentially viewed 😜)

Oryzias woworae-Daisy ricefish 

Do not need a heater but can also live in very warm water.  Adapt to almost any water parameters.  Do not produce high waste.  Always front and center playful, colorful and beautiful with bright blue eyes. image.jpeg.5a43fb176003a90af2b6797775766456.jpeg

The youngest will not appreciate this but maybe the 5 year olds? The females carry their eggs outside the body each morning.  They eat most of their babies so you won’t  overpopulate.  I occasionally see fry swimming about for a day or so.  

09F5C52F-7DB1-4B70-8A25-52CC14060D1A.jpeg

Photos are from google

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

I've most often seen personable, colorful fish used for small children.