Test strip result

Hello. 

Beginner here with my 1st tank. I checked my water with test strip. I think my buffer and pH of off the chart bad. Could someone help me understand this better please. Maybe recommend way to correct? 

Thank you.

PXL_20240422_220453498.jpg

Hey,

How long after coming out of the water was this picture taken?

It's been a while since I used test strips, but I thought the GH, KH & pH needed to be checked after like 20 seconds (check your instructions) and the longer you left them the deeper the color went and looked similar to your picture. Also try to lay it flat as soon as you take it out of the water to avoid any water from the other pads leaking onto different pads.

• Like 1

I’m pretty sure that just means you have high pH and hard water. I remember Cory mentioning in a video that if the GH reading was purpley pink like that it just means you’ve got hard water!

If you followed the directions on the back she checked it at 1 min that should be the most accurate result you’re going to get 🙂

I haven’t seen that KH reading before but it also looks like you just have really high KH as well.

• Like 2