Easiest setup for beginner? Live plants or no live plants?

memorywrangler

A friend of mine is thinking of getting his first aquarium. Probably a 20 gallon.  He wants it to be very low maintenance.  

The biggest first decision seems to be whether to get live plants or not:   live plans means a more expensive light and the additional cost of the plants, but it also means fewer water changes  and potentially having to deal with algae problems.  

So which is easier for a beginner in the long run plants, or no plants?

Edited by memorywrangler
  • Like 1

Plants. Hands down. They help your tank be maintenance free. Now, I'm a low tech person, no ferts. I have LED lights and for a 20 you can get some inexpensive ones that even have timers and neat tricks. I'd highly recommend easy plants. Rhizone plants are my favorites. The big box stores sell the ones in tubes and I encourage new people to get them because they come pest free and they won't have to worry about "bugs" or "snails" coming in the tank (though snails can be a good thing but for a beginner those things can quickly get out of control). Tube plants can be expensive but they are well worth the investment and they can be propogated. Get Anubias, Java Ferns (plenty of different types in both species) and then glue them to rocks. decor or use string and suction cups to anchor them along the glass. They are slow growers but don't need fancy light or high light

Edited by xXInkedPhoenixX
  • Like 4

It doesn't have to be an expensive light.  

I'm not sure I follow you on the allergy problems?