Shark Conservation and the (Freshwater) Aquarium Hobby

nabokovfan87

Hey Everyone,

I had emailed into the co-op a few months back when I first watched the documentary and I wanted to attempt to briefly share a little bit about myself and my journey with the topic.  I spent today watching the first one and I'm always left with so much on my mind afterwards.

First, and this is not an exaggeration in any way, when I was a kid I wanted to grow up and be an oceanographer.  I wanted to do something with marine life, sharks specifically, and I was truly inspired by Steve Irwin and watching his shows growing up.  Another big part of my personality is wanting to be a professional chef, cooking, and wanting to learn about cultures through different cuisines of the world.  I ended up learning a lot about computers, went to college for computer engineering while I worked as a mechanical engineer.

I've always been interested in sharks.  They are my favorite animal, favorite hockey team, and just an amazing part of our world. 

Because of that interest I generally keep my eyes peeled during shark week specials, documentaries, and on those topics. Sharkwater was released a bit ago (2006) and was a journey of someone explaining how they got involved in their conservation.  They explain some amazing things about them, about how the main character has this awe of them.  It also talked about some pretty heavy topics and things impacting the species.

Later a special came out about sharks by Gordon Ramsey in 2011 and the thing that bothered me was that the images shown were of the exact same locations doing the exact same thing every single day and nothing had changed in that time period.

Which brings us to the topic I am posting about....  Sharkwater 2: Extinction (2018).