In over my head?

eolith

I'm still relatively new to planted aquarium keeping. I have a low tech 10 gallon that has been going reasonably well, so I just took the plunge on setting up a 29 gallon. I ordered a "combo pack" of plants that turned out to be way more plants than I was expecting. I'm not totally sure that they'll be very compatible. There's everything from low-light plants (java, crypt, anubias) to the higher-light plants (dwarf baby tears, pearl weed, vallisneria). I tried to place the plants somewhat strategically, but may not have been entirely successful. Have I gotten myself into trouble?

I have several more questions for anyone who has the time and willingness to share their experience and thoughts. Feel free to pick and choose topics you have interest in:

1. I expect that most of the plants will melt back and take a while to really begin growing. Should I limit the lighting and fertilizer during this time? Any thoughts on what might be a good initial baseline for lighting/fertilizer? (There are not any fish residents just yet.)
  2. The current light is just an Aqueon OptiBright LED that the tank came with. I probably need something a bit better for the plants -- right?
  3. I haven't taken the plunge into CO2 just yet... should I? If so, any good resources for a beginner?
  4. Any tips on staying ahead of algae?

I've included a photo. The water is still a bit hazy from the initial fill and planting. Feel free to offer critique.

29g 1-2022 small.jpg

• Like 6
  • Love 4