I'm officially a puffer mom!!!!!!

Myznada08

I got my first puffer yesterday! I'm so excited and have been doing alot of research to properly care for him. He's a figure 8 puffer. It's my first time working with a brackish system but so far I think it's going well! I put some Anubis that I had in my other tank, so I'm excited to see how it holds up. If you have any tips for me I'd love to hear them!!!!

Oh by the way I named him P. Diddy 😁

20210813_234000.jpg

20210813_234607.jpg

20210813_234020.jpg

Edited by Myznada08
Added on to the body
  • Like 9
  • Love 4

Congrats. I have not tried brackish water yet.

My assumption would be the general suggestions for puffers: shelled / crunchy foods and I would consider some other inhabitants for clean up purposes. I include variatus platys in most puffer tanks even for the ambush fish eater puffers. The variatus tend to stabilize their population within a week or two of introduction and then start to grow their numbers back up in my puffer setups. Because the puffers are little messy when eating the livebearer clean up crews are a benefit to my systems by eating all the bits the puffers do not and cutting down on the excess food going bad in the water.  36 Gallon Planted Brackish Community posted by @Chris may be worth reviewing also that is an excellent thread that might help you as well.

• Like 4

On 8/14/2021 at 9:39 PM, Patrick_G said:

That is one cute fish. I’ve been mulling over getting a puffer. I’ll be interested to see how your plants hold up. 

Anubias should do fine in brackish water. Mine did great when I had the Pinocchio shrimp. Marimo balls are also good, but I do not think you can get them these days due to the Zebra mussel invasion.

Your tank is looking beautiful, and the puffer is gorgeous!

• Love 1