Hi from Massachusetts!

Hi everyone, I am getting back into fish keeping after about 15 years. I am starting with a 29 gallon and would love some advice...here's my plan (please no canister haters, I know I'm weird, but they make more sense to me)

Fluval 207 (with sponge on intake)

Sponge filter with airstone (I will keep in tank and use for quarantine tank setup as needed)

Eheim heater

Fluval Aquasky or Finnex Stingray 2 (leaning towards Fluval only because I am a tech nerd)

Will start with silk plants until I am comfortable with taking care of the fish and then transition to live plants (Brother in law has a 55 and a breeder for his Cockatoo Apistos and will hook me up with some of his plants and is even giving me some of his cycled media to start!)

Looking for a community style tank with some schooling fish, bottom feeders and a "centerpiece" fish - here's my current plan (end state):

~12 black neons

~12 ember tetras

4 panda corys

3 otos

3 Nerite snails

1 Honey Gourami (or other hopefully female Dwarf Gourami)

I am not married to any of these choices, but I would like to stay with the general community tank feel with some color as well, please feel free to comment any suggestions you may have (quantities, anything not needed, need something else, etc...) - I am currently waiting for my house to get painted before I setup the tank, so it will be a bit before I actually have the tank setup and ready to go 🙂

So glad to have found this community and can't wait to get my tank back up and running!!

Hi DebSills!

Welcome back to the hobby!  I too am from the great state of Mass.  While I don't have a community tank quite that large it sounds great.  I am more into breeding fish and shrimp.  It must be so exciting for you to be starting fresh.  If I can be of any assistance with a question, I can assure you together we can find an answer.  Good luck!

Tedrock

• Like 1