Imagination Time: Scaping a 5g betta tank for a friend

Hey you wonderful folks,

If you were going to scape a 5g aquarium for a betta and were to pick plants from Aquarium Co Op.  What plants would you choose?

I am working on setting up a new tank for a dear friend to have her first fish buddy.  I do have about 8.8 lbs of fluval shrimp stratum on hand I was thinking of using. Not only because our water tends to be hard here, but because I just want to get rid of it as it has been under my bed for about two years.  The color is brown.  I also have quiet a bit of dragon stone available to be used also, mostly brown in color. So that should make up the hardscape.  I will be getting her a co op sponge filter.

So with all that being said how would you imagine an aquarium with fluval stratum and dragon stone?  What plants would you go with for a complete noob that are available on the Co Op website 🙂 I know its not the biggest selection but I like spending my money with them. I am hoping to keep plant cost under $150.

Plants that I have readily on hand that I am overflowing with and can use include:  water lettuce, red floaters, frog bit, dwarf sagitteria, and pogo. oct. 

And I am sort of leaning towards crypts to be perfectly honest too. Just fyi.

Edited by Ben_RF

I just scaped a 5g with mostly coop plants. I'm a total newbie, so I got various anubias and java fern and love the way they look. I love crypts too, so I have them in my 10g. The only issue with them is melt, which can be a big bummer for new people who don't understand that's part of the process. And even if they do, it's still hard to see plants totally disintegrate. Here is my tank. 

PXL_20210406_172428947.MP.jpg

• Like 2

I have a few ideas for you!

I created a scape on Scape it with some dragon stone a well as with a nice peice of wood and plants the co-op has is stock.

image.png.825648b373e6e68845e1f5cfbe494854.pngimage.png.1e7f6f1cfb43726e2d56474e60668db0.png

It has some...