Some Advice would help

TrishK

Hi Everyone!! I'm Trish. I am still somewhat new to this hobby. I have had my BEAUTIFUL comet goldfish for 3 years now. They started as little 20 cent fish that I got for my daughter's 5th birthday. I did my research after the fact and realized that I needed to do better than the tiny little tank I had for them. I currently have them in a 75 gallon with 2 common plecos and a deal with my LFS for when my plecos outgrow this tank. They are thriving. I am pretty proud honestly. This brings me to my question. I still have the smaller tanks that I have moved my fish out of as they have grown, and I am developing MTS. I am thinking about guppies in my 29 gallon, and a betta with a few acceptable tank mates in my 10 gallon. My youngest daughter has a severe shellfish allergy and I can't bring any tank cleaners in with shells. I know that there are smaller tank cleaners, but I am in the middle of the New Mexico desert with not really a great fish selection, so places around here don't really have available the species I would need. Online fish are EXPENSIVE to ship. I will figure that part out, however, I know that these smaller tanks that I want to set up thrive better with live plants. This is where I get stuck. PLANTS HATE ME. I have killed some of the most difficult to kill plants pretty quickly. My cactus only lasted 72 hours. My friend gave me silk plants for my house and those wilted. No joke. I killed fake plants. This has made me super nervous about trying live plants in my aquariums. Can I still have happy, healthy, thriving fish with fake plants in my tanks? I know my goldfish are doing great, but I worry about the more tropical fish. Any help I could get would be appreciated.

• Like 2