Opinions on Quarantine Tank (Established/or Not)

Bonex

Hey everyone, I'm new to fish keeping and recently started quarantining fish. I set up a quarantine tank with an established filter, but I've been experiencing a concerning issue. After a water change, around 25% of my fish end up dead, making me question whether I should continue. Some people suggest that a tank with beneficial bacteria and plants is better than one with just an established filter and decor. Another suggestion was to move sick fish from an "established" tank to a non-established tub for treatment. I'd appreciate any opinions or advice on whether I'm doing quarantine wrong or if this is a common issue. Thanks!

• Like 2

Test your tanks for Ammonia, Nitrite, and Nitrate. When fish respirate and defecate, they release ammonia. Unless your nitrifying bacteria bacterial colonies are ample enough to convert Ammonia to Nitrite… and Nitrite on to Nitrate… any tank becomes a death trap.

Nitrifying bacteria coats all hard surfaces over time. I suspect that your sponge filter was not sufficiently primed. 

• Like 4

Best is to have both tanks established. And close to the same water as possible, causes less stress. It’s not always possible to do this though. If you can’t get it cycled, try and start with as clean a water as possible. Most treatments only last up to a week. If it’s an uncycled tank keep an eye on ammonia and nitrite. Don’t worry about nitrates for now. Hopefully you can complete treatments before you hit o.5 ppm ammonia. If not, you may be able to rescue a treatment by adding seachem prime. But don’t rely on it. 

for fish dying after water changes, you are dechlorinating?  That’s the only thing that can damage fish by just changing water. Unless… have you tested your water out of the tap?

• Like 1