Cycling problems šŸ˜”

FishyMike

Hello all,

Iā€™m a newbie here! My 5 year old son and I got into the hobby about a month and a half ago and I need help!Ā I set up our 15 gallon tank about 6 weeks ago. I filled the tank up with tap water and doses accordingly with stress coat and a day later I dosed my tank with fritz ammonia chloride. My first mistake was over dosing with too much and got the ammonia upto about 8 ppm yikes. So I then did a water change and again dosed with stress coat did a 50 percent water change. I got it down to 4ppm. And I thought I was on my way! A co-worker of mine wasĀ kind enough to let us have his filter to help us out. And I installed it! Everything was going well but very slow!! After the 3 week mark I was down to 2ppm And that where it stayed for another 2 weeks with no budge. So I decided to reach out to Angels plus and bought a seeded filter I was thinking hey canā€™t hurt! But I hate to say it didnā€™t do much. I reached out to Fritz and asked what could I be doing wrong and they pointed me in the direction of checking my gh and kh and sure enough I wasĀ low in each!(my tap water base is 4gh and 3kh)Ā  I added a dose of seachemĀ equilibrium and alkaline buffer. About 3 days ago and havenā€™t seen much happenšŸ˜” Iā€™m a bit discouraged my son has grown impatient and I feel like everything I do and I canā€™t get it to cycle. Does anyone have any suggestions or any idea what I could be doing wrong? I have heat 82degrees. And an air stone on my sponge filter.Ā 
Ā 

thank you everyone in advance and donā€™t be too hard on me Iā€™m a newbie trying to learn as Ā much as I possibly can!

• Sad 1

• Administrators

This is why I never recommend cycling a tank with ammonia. I recommend cycling with aquarium plants. I have a video on how I recommend doing that.Ā 

Ā 

Ā 

You can also read our blog article on cycling aquariums here:Ā 

WWW.AQUARIUMCOOP.COM