Help with PH

SugarBassJoe

I've been having trouble raising the Ph in three of my tanks, they are the three longest running tanks if that can help, The oldest being a year, the youngest being 3 months. Water out of the tap reads:

Nitrate-0ppm

Nitrite-0pm

GH-300ppm+(maxes out the strip)

KH-Between 80-120ppm

Ph-8.0

But now the tanks sit around:

Nitrate-25ppm

Nitrite-0ppm

GH-300ppm

KH-0ppm

PH-6.5

I'm trying not to overdo the water changes, I would normally do around a 1/4 of each tank every week, if needed that is, they were really stable for a while, the guppy tank was the first to start dropping, I figured it was due to the extra bio load from the all the fry coming in every month. I increased the water changes to twice a week, 1/4 of the tank at a time, feel like I made a mistake last week doing a 40% change, had a big bacteria bloom. I've been running crushed coral in a hang on back for a couple months to increase the KH, but now I'm still reading 0ppm KH. After each water change ill increase the KH to about 80ppm and raise the PH to 6.8, but the next day it'll go back to reading KH-0ppm and PH-6.5. Same story for the other two, but I don't do the extra water changes or run crushed coral in them.

I've been considering using Seachem neutral PH and Alkaline Buffer, but I'm weary since my tap water reads the way it does, I don't want to overload the water with extra stuff if I don't have to, but my current methods seem unsuccessful for now. 

Hoping someone can steer me in the right direction, thanks!

On 12/23/2022 at 9:16 AM, Fish Folk said:

Test source water. Your 0 KH is why it’s crashing. That’s your “buffer.” Once that’s cut through, pH topples. Happens in most of my tanks. Add crushed coral to help counteract.

Is the KH in the tap not enough? and should I add more coral to the HOB? I started with a pound for a 10G a few month back, there's still a good amount in there.

Was replying quickly. Sorry for some incomplete thoughts.