Guppy fry struggles

AnotherHumanPerson

I am new to fish breeding/raising fry, and few weeks ago, my female guppy gave birth to what I counted to be around 15 fry in an established 29 gallon planted tank with no other fish. Shortly after she gave birth, I removed the mother. A few days later, all of the fry had died. My water had 0 nitrate, nitrite, and ammonia, and had a high ph and gh as usual. The tank was heated to 70 degrees Fahrenheit (the room I had it in was usually 65 degrees), and I fed the fry xtreme nano two times a day. I noticed the same female is gravid again, and I want the fry to survive. From what I have read, I need to heat the tank more and feed more. Are my assumptions correct? Are there any other potential reasons for the deaths? 

If the mother is new she may have birthed prematurely… it happens sometimes.

Guppies are quite tolerant of temps but a heater may help. It is odd that there’s 0 nitrates though, it can happen in heavily planted tank but normally that’s the time when I add some ferts. Not sure if more food was needed, especially in a planted tank with no other fish, I personally only feed guppy babies 2x per day on average and they do fine.

On 7/16/2022 at 1:51 PM, Barbvday said:

If the mother is new she may have birthed prematurely… it happens sometimes.

Guppies are quite tolerant of temps but a heater may help. It is odd that there’s 0 nitrates though, it can happen in heavily planted tank but normally that’s the time when I add some ferts. Not sure if more food was needed, especially in a planted tank with no other fish, I personally only feed guppy babies 2x per day on average and they do fine.

I posted something similar on Reddit, and they agreed that it could be premature birth.

I’m getting a new heater in on Monday, so that should fix my temp issue. 
I might also add some easy green to my next aquarium co-op order.