Pea Puffer Tank Clean Up Crew

MTAquatics

Hi everyone! 

I have a planted 29 gallon with 8 pea puffers. I need a little help with algae clean up in this tank. Has anyone found any fish that could get along with these guys and eats some algae? I've only kept pea puffers in species only tanks so I have no experience with how they would treat other fish. Are they aggressive with fish that are bigger than them?

• Like 1

I agree with @Keeg. The only time I've seen pea puffers behave with other fish is when they were raised in the tank with those other fish, all of whom were bigger than them even when they were full grown. 55g heavily planted tank, too. No nippiness from them. That's literally the only instance I've seen of them NOT being "jerks" unfit for a social setting. 😁

• Like 1

I think most puffers like to test boundaries with their mouth. So it could work great one day and then be bitten, eaten, etc by the puffers at any point.

What kind of algae? 

I would probably scrape / remove the surface algae when doing maintenence. 

But for plants substrate etc I have had variatus platys (almost exclusively females live long enough to get smart) live in an ambush puffer tank for a year and reproduce no issues. I have also had a kidders livebearer female live in a tank of 6 pao palustris adults for 5 months and then move in with with 3 adult hairy puffers for 3 months and counting. She eats all the food bits they spread across the tank. Livebearers are fairly smart and do clean up well for me with bigger puffers.

I would probably try black chinned livebearers or maybe a short finned endler variety in a pea puffer tank if it were more of a plant surface algae. That would be with the understanding that the puffers might like them more than I do and a plan b might be needed should it go bad.