Aquarium Stand Options.

Cinnebuns

Hey, so I'm very new to fish. I just got a new 29 gallon aquarium. I realized the table I was originally going to put it on will not hold it. I am considering other pieces of furniture but it has me nervous now. Do I need to purchase a stand made for the tank or will a piece of furniture work?  Any advice as to what to look for in said furniture?  I have included a pic of 2 pieces of furniture I currently have and am considering. One is currently holding my 5 gallon. Excuse the mess around them lol. I have seen other options on marketplace but I want to make sure it's going to work.  Ty

16394332294323489248836516360455.jpg

16394332530452423760808260934224.jpg

You are probably nervous for good reason. The first table looks too small for a 29 gallon and the second looks like flimsy fiberboard. If you look on marketplace you will find quality made used furniture at good prices. That's what I always do for my stands, and they are strong. Try thrift stores too. Sometimes you can find just what you're looking for.

29 gallons of water is 241.57 pounds at 8.33 pounds per gallon. Add the weight of the aquarium and you are over 250 pounds. Furniture works fine as long as it will hold up that weight and support that constant load over time.

Another important factor is the position of the aquarium on the furniture. Placing it near or on top of vertical structural support might be important. Also, you might want to take into account whether the furniture would be significantly weakened by dampness. A granite top is better than a wooden top, for example, because it won't get weaker if it gets wet.

I had my second floor reinforced so that I could have a 130 gallon aquarium on the second floor. Not the same issue, but a similar analysis.