Concern about Taking Fish to a LFS

CalmedByFish

For the amount of tank maintenance I'm able to do, I'm on the edge of overstocked. I'm considering offering some livebearers to a lfs, as one way to decrease the problem, but I've never done that before. (I'm also increasing plants and water volume.)

My primary concern is that my fishies would end up with people who won't take good care of them, and end up causing them to suffer. 

If you have insight on the topic - maybe even a way to decrease risk to the fish - I'd appreciate hearing it. 

(If you also are having an overstocking problem, you might want to know that my tank that's stuffed with hornwort has the lowest nitrates of my 7 tanks. Hornwort's helpful.)  

• Like 1

I have some insight I guess because I totally understand where you're coming from. When I started back in the hobby all I really wanted was my one 20 gallon tank. I purposefully picked fish that supposedly wouldn't breed or are near impossible to breed. I did that because, like you, nobody is good enough for the animals I raise. (I worked in an animal shelter for a time and I had to stop fostering because I didn't like "giving away" my furkids, to people who no matter how good they were- were never good enough for them). 

My Otos spawning was the best and worst thing that could have happened. It started a chain reaction and now I have 5 tanks that all were started in some form or fashion because of the Otos. The plan was to put as many of them as I could into the new tanks and then take the "leftovers" to the LFS. Well. I still don't like that idea, it just feels so very animal shelter to me. So I have what might be considered an "overstocked" tank (that gets daily maintenance and tests well).