Hi! Intro and question

Morpheus

Hi Everyone!

I've been consuming as much content on here and the Co-op YT as I can.  I'm new to the hobby... my first project is to get a 20 long planted community tank going for the kids (three boys aged 3, 5, and 7) to enjoy.

I'm planning to start the tank in the next couple days with some java fern, various cryptos, christmas moss, and maybe some anubias.  After I get the tank cycling, I'll start slowly stocking with fish, etc.

Our wish list is long!

1 betta

3 dwarf red coral platy

6 cardinal tetra

3 african dwarf frog

1 bamboo shrimp

3 kuhli loach

1 clown pleco

Q1: Is this too much for a 20 long planted tank?

Q2: I should introduce the betta and the shrimp last, correct?  Does the order of introduction for the others matter that much?

Thanks in advance for the advice!

• Like 2

Hi Morpheus! Cool name.

Welcome to the hobby and the forum.

I was about the age of your kids when I first became excited about fish. Perhaps you're awaking a life-long joy for them. 🙂 

Others will have more experience to offer, but I've had 3 African Dwarf Frogs. They're going to be super hard to feed with other bottom-feeders in the tank. Really, I think they'd be hard to feed with any other species at all in the tank. That's definitely something to research. 

• Like 2

28 minutes ago, Morpheus said:

Hi Everyone!

I've been consuming as much content on here and the Co-op YT as I can.  I'm new to the hobby... my first project is to get a 20 long planted community tank going for the kids (three boys aged 3, 5, and 7) to enjoy.

I'm planning to start the tank in the next couple days with some java fern, various cryptos, christmas moss, and maybe some anubias.  After I get the tank cycling, I'll start slowly stocking with fish, etc.

Our wish list is long!

1 betta

3 dwarf red coral platy

6 cardinal tetra

3 african dwarf frog

1 bamboo shrimp

3 kuhli loach

1 clown pleco

Q1: Is this too much for a 20 long planted tank?