Downside of HOB filters

BeetleLann

As I am new to this hobby, I realize there is a lot I have yet to learn. At present, I have a 10G aquarium with a HOB filter. Last night I found one of my cherry shrimp had gotten into the canister (if that is the correct term), and died. I assume fish death is just part of the hobby, but I wish to learn how to minimize this reality, if possible. The intake is covered by a foam sleeve of sorts, so I am not sure how the shrimp got into the filter.

How I can prevent this from happening again? I tried asking this question to a FB group I am part of, but they would not let me post because I attached a photo of the dead shrimp. Furthermore, should I move to a sponge filter? A clerk at my local store said it wasn't necessary because it would make my tank look cluttered, but  my gut says I should not have listened to him.

• Administrators

My advice is always use what ya have first. Being that you're new, it's good to experience with things. Everyone will have preferences. While I love mexican food, you may like Italian. What can help prevent fish and shrimp getting sucked in is called a in take or pre filter sponge. We sell them and you size them to the filter size, my best guess is a medium would serve you well as it fits the most filter. It just goes around where the water gets sucked in. 

https://www.aquariumcoop.com/collections/sponge-filters/products/medium-pre-filter-sponge

5 minutes ago, Cory said:

My advice is always use what ya have first. Being that you're new, it's good to experience with things. Everyone will have preferences. While I love mexican food, you may like Italian. What can help prevent fish and shrimp getting sucked in is called a in take or pre filter sponge. We sell them and you size them to the filter size, my best guess is a medium would serve you well as it fits the most filter. It just goes around where the water gets sucked in.