German Blue Rams and hard water.

Fenrir

I kept a pair in hard water at around 80 degrees.  They laid eggs 2 or 3 times but never hatched.  I have always assumed that they wouldn't be able to hatch in my water or at that temp but I'm far from an expert.  The fish themselves did well though.  

I have kept German blues, and electric blue rams in my hard tap water with no issues. Your best bet would be to get them from a breeder or store in your area so that they are  acclimated to the local waters. I think the issue most people have with rams is not keeping them warm enough, When I have had them, I keep them between 82-86 degrees. 

• Like 2

2 hours ago, Andy's Fish Den said:

I have kept German blues, and electric blue rams in my hard tap water with no issues. Your best bet would be to get them from a breeder or store in your area so that they are  acclimated to the local waters. I think the issue most people have with rams is not keeping them warm enough, When I have had them, I keep them between 82-86 degrees. 

Do you think 79 would be ok? I just don't want to overheat my Angels and Kribs. I might remove kribs since they reside in the same territory just have them for a spawning project is all. I can bump up to 80 just don't want to go crazy.

Edited by Fenrir

17 hours ago, Fenrir said:

Do you think 79 would be ok? I just don't want to overheat my Angels and Kribs. I might remove kribs since they reside in the same territory just have them for a spawning project is all. I can bump up to 80 just don't want to go crazy.

I would say no, minimum 82. Angels will do fine in 82 water. I wouldn't keep rams and kribs in the same tank anyways. They both use the same area of the tank (bottom) and can be quite territorial when spawning. So I would choose one or the other or set up another tank.

• Like 1

25 minutes ago, Andy's Fish Den said: