MTS vs books

Dawn T

Because of space limitations, I've been keeping only 2 tanks - both 29g. I've wanted more and bigger tanks, but I have to wait until our living arrangements change. In the meantime, I've been considering setting up and aquascaping one of my empty 10g tanks as a cherry shrimp habitat. Same issue arose, though. Where to put it. Then I had an idea. If I pack a bunch of books and move out a bookcase, I can put a 10g (or two!) in the same space the bookshelf currently takes up. Considering I'm a writer AND an avid reader, bookshelves are sacrosanct, but shrimp would be worth putting books away for, I think. Where there's a will, there's a way, right?

• Like 1
  • Haha 1

I’ve heard Cory say that in the US, everyone thinks “more is better!” But in Europe, _ perfection _ is prized. Maybe there’s a way for you to sort of “rewire” and try to perfect the tanks you’ve got already? Here’s the Green Aqua showroom...

Edited by Fish Folk

Unfortunately, VERY limited option there without rehoming existing fish. I don't want to do that. I have 2 options at this point, remove books and a bookshelf so I can set up at least 1 of my 10g tanks, or I wait until my existing fish die of old age and naturally free up the existing 29g tanks.

• Like 1

2 hours ago, Fish Folk said:

I'm myself am eyeing a bookshelf filled with never touched books as a space better used for another couple of aquariums. Alas, they're by partners books not mine, so the campaign will take some time. I figure there's not much point in hauling around and displaying dozens of books that will never ever be read again.

Full disclosure- I come from a thoroughly academic family where moldy, old, unread books were sacrosanct.

• Haha 2