My hob is overflowing and I have filter cartridge questions.

I am struggling with what to do with my 10g topfinn hob filter and cartridge. It has been a solid 3 months since changing my filter cartridge. It is dirty, and I mean dirty, and the filter has been overflowing (going over the small part by the outflow of the hob on the right of the picture which is highlighted down below. But I have a crushed coral bag in the hob and have no room to put a second cartridge in for a week or two so bacteria will get in there, so transferring bacteria is what I mean. So could I take out my crushed coral bag from hob? The crushed coral is for my snail, because my water is really soft and crushed coral has good stuff in it for snails I hear. But no room for a second cartridge. I know I know, I have a topfin “replacement” cartridge in there rn. Yes I was tricked when I was a newbie thinking that you can only use those for this  Specific filter. Wrong! I know you can use filter pads that much much longer. But this one is starting to break down and all. So need to change.

So main Q. Can I take crushed coral completely out of the tank for a week or two to put the replacement cartridge behind the old and present one in the hob. Will the water have water quality issues if I take crushed coral out of tank? Should I even be worrying about that. Could I put the crushed coral sitting loose in tank or hang it from something? Does my nerite snail need crushed all the time? Whoops that was like 5 questions lol.

Also idk if my tank is getting clogged, because the water is overrunning a spot where water shouldn’t be. And I read on instructions a long time ago saying, if it overruns that part on the outlet you need to change your cartridge. I guess that’s right.

I hope you get my point, kinda hard to explain. But I need to change the filter cartridge and need help with these Qs I have mentioned. TIA guys and I gladly will take any info I receive. 🙂

-Whitecloud09