Seeking practical advice and experience with selective breeding?

memorywrangler

I'm pondering a selective breeding project to try to develop some interesting variations in coloring/finage scarlet badis.

I've never done anything like this before, and I'm curious about two things:

1. What experiences other people have had:  How many generations did it take to see some results?  How challenging/frustrating was it?  How large a breeding population did you have to maintain?
  2. Resources (like a book rather than blog post) about genetics with respect to selective breeding.

thanks!

• Like 1

I have been a non-serious, though regular breeder for a few years now. Others can be more helpful, but I like your question.

”Selective breeding” may or may not be a technical term. At a very basic level, you can start a colony and opt to either (1) “selectively preserve” desired traits by _culling_ undesired fish, or (2) “selectively remove” fish with desired traits to separste breeding tanks. Either way, you are separating desired fish from undesired ones, and seeking to propagate certain traits. At the most elementary level, this is what potentially begins to happen every time a hobbyist chooses the “best / desired” fish at a pet store, leaving behind less-desired species. More developed is when a group of brooders is bought, best adults spawn, and best fry are carefully preserved.

”Selective breeding” can imply some iteration of “line breeding” where a line of fish descended from brooders with desirable traits gets carefully bred together. The tendency is (a) for desirable traits to statistically increase, but also (b) for health problems to statistically increase due to inbreeding. To help resolve this, breeders will set up multiple lines from separate brooder source stock, and then _cross_ them a couple generations in to keep genetic variation sufficient to maintain desirable traits, but avoid poor genetic health overall.