Sources for more advanced/niche fishkeeping content?

River

Hi! I’ve been keeping fish in planted tanks for a few years and I’m starting to scrape the bottom of the education available from most YouTube channels and Google searches, as most of it is geared for beginners.  I’d like to start learning more advanced things, particularly about bettas and aquarium microfauna.  Anybody have suggestions for a turbo nerd like me?

• Like 1

Glad you’ve joined the dark side. In all honesty things have only started getting easier as I have introduced diverse fauna and flora to my tanks.

As far as information though, you aren’t going to find much in the form of digestible content. As you mentioned that content is geared towards beginners so it steers clear of the weeds so to speak.

Unfortunately you will have to jump off the deep end. And by that I mean google scholar…. There are a couple Barons publishing company books that go into biotope scaping and microfauna but they are extremely limited in scope usually.

I pretty much only watch Cory and Serpa design. I watch serpa for design ideas not so much knowledge and Cory has always been a big nerd so his insights regardless of your experience level always has been refreshing. 

[Not just saying that because these are his forums either]

• Like 4
  • Thanks 1

On 8/6/2023 at 3:52 PM, Biotope Biologist said:

Glad you’ve joined the dark side. In all honesty things have only started getting easier as I have introduced diverse fauna and flora to my tanks.

As far as information though, you aren’t going to find much in the form of digestible content. As you mentioned that content is geared towards beginners so it steers clear of the weeds so to speak.

Unfortunately you will have to jump off the deep end. And by that I mean google scholar…. There are a couple Barons publishing company books that go into biotope scaping and microfauna but they are extremely limited in scope usually.