Nitrates high in established/planted tank

eusher11

Hey all! I'm back again, in need of some guidance. I have a 23G Fluval Vista tank. Originally when I first started into the hobby, I started with a 2.5g quarantine tank, and a 16.9g Fluval Flex. Anytime I upgraded tanks, I used the filter media from the previous tank to rapid cycle the new tank - used the same substrate, too. Point is, this tank is WELL established, and has been for years. 

A few months ago, I experienced what I like to call ammonia-geddon. From the beginning, I had been using my tap water for my tank. I have an API master kit, and back in 2020, when I got my first tank, there was NO ammonia, NO nitrite, and NO nitrate in my tap water. Perfect. WELL, I was experiencing some issues with ammonia. And when I say some issues, I mean the ammonia in my tank read 8.0ppm - it crept up with every water change. Thank goodness for Prime! That's immediate fish death. EVERYONE survived this ordeal - and there were multiple water changes that had to take place. Ultimately, because I just COULD NOT figure out where this ammonia was coming from (I wasn't over-feeding, I wasn't over-stocked - it's a 23G tank with 8 cory's). I finally decided to test my tap water, sure enough, 0.50ppm of ammonia. Went to the local Petco for advice - the fish lady told me to get spring water. So, I did. I've been using spring water for water changes for a couple of months now. Everything seemed to be going just fine. Until...my nitrates started increasing. I like to keep them between 10-20ppm. They're 40ppm. I have several plants in this tank, established plants. Just added some red root floaters and frogbit as well.