Filter for a 75g?

Katherine

I'm planning to get a 75g tank sometime in the next few months and doing some thinking and planning ahead of time.

I know I don't want to mess with a canister filter. What would be the pros and cons of a couple of sponge filters vs a hang on back?

I've never had anything larger than a 10 gallon before and never used a HOB style filter. The 10g was given to me with an in tank cartridge filter that I switched for a sponge filter fairly quickly.

What are you planning on keeping in the tank?  I think that makes a huge difference.

Air driven sponge filters (in my opinion) are more or less useless for mechanical filtration.  The caveat is that I am relatively new to sponges.  Perhaps a power head driven one would create enough "suction" to slurp up material.  This is actually good for some applications, but not necessarily great for others.  

Otherwise, I've always enjoyed HOBs and I think they're a good option.  But I don't think I've ever had a tank without at least two filters.  Like a HOB and a sponge filter working together.  

In my 37 gallon community I have a couple of HOBs and a smaller Co-Op sponge filter.  On my 75 discus tank I've got (as of the shipment arriving last night) three double stacked large Co-Op sponges.  Hospital tank has a smaller finer sponge that I had laying around.  In the discus tank, I am the mechanical filtration with water changes every night.  If you're going to put 40 male African cichlids in your 75, you should probably do something different than what I'm doing. 🙂 

Edited by jwcarlson
  • Like 1